Re-imagining sustainable events 

Programme and teams

Sustainable Event Management


Re-set hackathon

Teams

Please select a team and join them on Slack, then join that 'break out group' in our online platform on Hack-a-thon-day.

Thanks for attending!

Thanks to everyone that participated in this global gathering of events professionals committed to a sustainable event industry re-set. The 30 min clip below left is a summary of the take-aways from many of the teams. You can watch each of the team meetings, read the chat (!), and see the take aways from each team below. Below right is a summary about the SEA. Join us!

Summary from the teams

About the Sustainable Event Alliance

Here are some more feature takeaways. We'll dig for the gold in the sessions and bring you more in the coming weeks!

Session 1

Wed 15 April, 2020

EU/Australia friendly time: 

Wed 15th: Auckland 10pm / Sydney 8pm / Perth 6pm / Delhi 3:30pm / Dubai 2pm / Madrid 12 noon / London 11am / New York 6am / Denver 4am / Los Angeles 3am

Session 2

Wed 15/Thur 16 April, 2020

America/Australia friendly time: 

Wed 15th: New York 6pm / Denver 4pm / Los Angeles 3pm / London 11pm / Thurs 16th: Auckland 10am / Sydney 8am / Perth 6am / Delhi 3:30am / Dubai 2am / Madrid midnight

Team 1: Social Glue

Events as the social glue - what now? In this session we will explore how the UN SDGs are a framework for the world working for everyone AND the global event industry. We will explore what could happen if the event industry told this story and was recognised as the ‘social glue’ for the world working for everyone. Join Slack #team-social-glue Facilitators: Fiona Pelham (Denmark) Positive Impact Events | Merrin Pearse (Hong Kong) The Purpose Business

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

Team 2: Data

Resetting the Baseline - Impact Metrics for a reDesigned Industry. Data. Analytics. Insights. Evidence-based decision making. In a world where more and more data is available, why is it that events related data is as sparse as ever? How do we change this? Join Slack #team-baseline-data

Facilitators: Lisa Erhart (Australia) Institute for Sustainable Events, Cameron Little (Australia) SEA Leadership Team

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

Team 3: Destinations

Rethink, redesign, regenerate better event destinations. Join Slack #team-destinations

Facilitators: Guy Bigwood (Spain) GDSI | Aurora Dawn Benton (USA) Astrapto

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

Team 4: Landscape After Lockdown

Social behaviour; Is this the perfect storm to end the live event experience as we know it? How will social distancing affect live events? Join Slack #team-landscape-after-lockdown

Facilitators: Chris Pleydell (UK) The Green Energy Fund, Abena Poku-Awuah (UK) Legacy Events (SEA Leadership Team)

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

Team 5: Rethinking sports

Could this crisis be an opportunity to rethink the dimension of sport events, and propose events of a new generation, embedding all dimensions of the sustainable development? Join Slack #team-rethinking-sports

Facilitators: Géraud Mousnier (France) Asveltri | Geert Hendriks (Switzerland) SANDSI

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

Team 6: Event Safe Zones?

Can events and festivals become ‘safe zones’ for COVID 19 immune people at some point? Join Slack #team-event-safe-zones

Facilitator: Jacob Bilabel (Germany) Green Music Initiative

Team 7: Climate Emergency

How might we bring SDGs and Climate Emergency into ‘headlines’ = integrate in all what we do? Join Slack #team-climate-chaos-emergency

Facilitators: Claudia van't Hullenaar (Germany) Sustained Impact, Lorenzo Orlandi (Italy) LOCOM (SEA Leadership Team)

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

Team 8: Budgets & Mindsets

How do we manage budgets and mindsets to deliver sustainable events? Join Slack #team-budgets-mindsets.

Facilitators: Livvy Drake (UK) Sustainable Sidekicks | Fiona Pascoe (Australia) 

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • Take Aways

Team 9: Food Waste

How do we re-set our approach to wasteful catering, planning for food salvage and resource cycling through compost capture? Join Slack #team-food-waste

Facilitator: Miek Egberts (Monaco) Inspire Me | Gayle Murphy (Malta) Global Green Events

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

Team 10: Step Up for Society

How can the Events Industry "step up for society” in moments of crisis? Join Slack #team-step-up-for-society

Facilitators: Rebecca Johnson (UK & Spain) GDSI | Charlotte Connell (Australia) Infrastructure Sustainability Council of Australia

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

Team 11: Food and Inclusion

Feeding engagement and nourishing inclusion through food. Join Slack #team-food-inclusion

Facilitator: Tracy Stuckrath (USA) Thrive Meetings

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

Team 12: Festival and Concert Practical Matters

Address issues such as single use plastic, social distancing, digital events, water usage, sanitation, safety, public trust, etc. Join Slack #team-festivals-practical-matters

Facilitators: Patricia Yague (France) Live Nation | Paul Schurink (Netherlands) Green Events International 

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

 

Team 13: Climate & Community

Creating Local Climate Action Communities. To address a massive problem, we need solutions on a massive scale but with a local focus. How do we create large scale adoption of sustainable practices in our industry, and how do we make these practices everlasting? Using 4 pillars - education, collaboration, inspiration and action - this session will focus on using our events to influence broader and deeper sustainability practices and grassroots activism. Join Slack #team-climate-chaos-emergency

Facilitators: Natalie Lowe (Canada) Sustainable Event Planner | Mélanie Delaplanche (Belgium) Sustainability Addict (SEA Leadership Team)

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

Team 14: Digital Reality

Digital events - can it be a natural part of the event mix after the lockdown? Online is the only way to stay connected and move further, but do they have more potential looking further? Let’s discuss the economical / sustainable / geographical impact that digital events could have on MICE business. Join Slack #team-digital-reality

Facilitators: Indre Blauzdziunaite (Lithuania) | Victoria Elena Rojas (UK) 

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

SPECIAL SESSION:

After the hack-a-thon and before the final wrap we take time out for some therapy….. some PET THERAPY…. yes it’s bring your pet to work day. If you’ll have your fur-baby under your feet during the hack-a-thon, now is their time to take centre stage. In this 15 min interlude  bring your pets onto the camera for all to enjoy. The session will be lead by Hong  Kong based animal lover Merrin. Show your tricks, or just have them sat cutely on your lap. We don’t mind. We just want to see their gorgeousness.

Interlude Office stretching
with Benas Blauzdžiūnas

When was the last time you gave yourself a good stretch? And we don’t mean reaching for the pack of cookies on the upper shelf! Make yourself a favour and use 15 min break for the quick back and neck workout.

Team 1: Social Glue

Events as the social glue - what now? In this session we will explore how the UN SDGs are a framework for the world working for everyone AND the global event industry. We will explore what could happen if the event industry told this story and was recognised as the ‘social glue’ for the world working for everyone. Join Slack #team-social-glue

Facilitator: Michele Fox (USA)  SEA Leadership Team | Hailey Mason (Australia) Sorted Events

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

Team 2: Reusables

Techniques for retaining reusables onsite. Potential creation for global safe guidelines Join Slack #team-reusables

Facilitators: Michael Cyr (USA) Cup Zero | Kim Renshaw (NZ) Beyond the Bin

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

 

Team 3: Festival and Concert Leadership

Was COVID-19 the re-set button we needed in order to become more sustainable as an industry? How do live events emerge as leaders to guide this change? Join Slack #team-fest-concert-leadership

Facilitators: Stephanie Nelson (USA),  Lisa Cameron (Australia) SEA Leadership Team

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

Team 4: Stand behind the science

COVID taught us to listen to science, here’s how events must benefit in future. Whenever a reusable item is purchased - the user is taking on a debt of reuse, the construction of that more robust and reusable item no doubt being more impactful than the single use alternative it replaces. Join Slack #team-stand-behind-science

Facilitators: Blake Lindley (Australia) Edge Environment | Cameron Little (Australia) SEA Leadership Team

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT

  • TAKEAWAYS

Team 5: Rethinking sports

Could this crisis be an opportunity to rethink the dimension of sport events, and propose events of a new generation, embedding all dimensions of the sustainable development? Join Slack #team-rethinking-sports

Facilitators: Géraud Mousnier (France) Asveltri | Shelley Villalobos (USA) Council for Responsible Sport

  • VIDEO

  • CHAT